Using drama in High Schools

Home Page Forums Help Forum: Teenagers Using drama in High Schools

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Gill Starkie
    Participant

I’ve been working in road safety for more than 15 years, but my background is teaching drama, and I am beginning to work on an idea, delivering road safety using drama as a tool to educate Year 7’s and older.

The students will ‘do’ the ‘drama’, acting out situations and having the opportunity to stop and start the scenarios as the session is delivered. Covering topics including, in car safety, peer pressure, taking responsibility, speaking out, mobiles etc. Enabling them to think and make decisions and choices as to whether a decision is right or wrong – and then hopefully remembering the strategies they acted out and experienced when faced with a similar situation in the ‘real world’.

I was wondering whether any other road safety departments across the country have already done this, or something similar? I would like to be sure that this way of delivering road safety education is effective and sustainable before I put any more effort into developing the plans. Also, if I can be aware of what works and what doesn’t work and the warning signs, it will help a great deal. Any advice or help would be very much appreciated.

Gill Starkie

admin
    Keymaster

Interesting proposal. I am a Bikeability Instructor in schools, although rarely get to work with Year7 & above,as schools say not enough time in curriculum for such activities! May explain accident rate & obesity!

Will be interesting to see how your project evolves.

Regards
    John Holiday
    Mold, North Wales

E: jahsurveying@btinternet.com
    T: 07974249181

admin
    Keymaster

Hi, Gill.
    My background is acting, so I had a similar impulse to try to use drama directly, rather than getting a company in to do TIE. Unfortunately, the schools in our area were less receptive than I’d hoped.